Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

January February Exhibition

The Ewing Gallery is pleased to present, Unsustainable: A Planet in Crisis – a group exhibition featuring artwork ranging in material, discipline, and execution that addresses the theme of planetary crises – climate change, the rise of disease and superbugs, world conflict and national instability, plastics in the ocean, gun violence, pollution of the waterways from mining, air pollution from use of fossil fuels, the opioid crisis, and species extinction.

Participating artists are:

Michele Banks https://www.artologica.net/

Brandon Ballengee, PhD         https://brandonballengee.com/

Scott Chimileski, PhD + Roberto Kolter, PhD  https://www.quantamagazine.org/the-beautiful-intelligence-of-bacteria-and-other-microbes-20171113/

Brandon Donahue       https://brandonjaquezdonahue.com/home.html     

Lorrie Fredette            http://lorriefredette.com/

Yeon Jin Kim               http://www.domesticmuseology.com/yeon-jin-kim

Pam Longobardi          https://driftersproject.net/about/

Dan Mills                     http://abacus.bates.edu/~dmills/

John Sabraw               http://www.johnsabraw.com/

Karen Shaw                 https://karenshaw100.com/

In conjunction with Unsustainable, artist and educator Pam Longobardi will be giving a public lecture on Thursday, January 23rd at 7:30pm on her work. Longobardi’s lecture will be in McCarty Auditorium, room 109 of the Art + Architecture Building.

Pam Longobardi is an American contemporary eco artist and activist, currently living and working in Atlanta, Georgia. She is known internationally for sculptural works and installations created from plastic debris, primarily from marine and coastal environments, as a primary material. She is also a Professor of Drawing and Painting at Georgia State University.

Longobardi’s lecture is part of the University of Tennessee School of Art’s Programming Committee Lecture Series.

Unsustainable – a Planet in Crisis was developed as part of the programming for UT’s Apocalypse Semester and as a partner exhibition to Visions of the End at the McClung Museum.

Unsustainable  will be on view at the Ewing Gallery from Thursday, January 9 – Sunday, February 16.